An email can be sent automatically when a member upgrades or downgrades to a particular membership level. Many customers choose to add this email to confirm the member has switched levels successfully and to include details about the new level.
This email can also be useful if you have set up a free
Cancel membership level that will allow your members to
cancel their own account. In this case they will not receive a payment receipt because the Cancel membership is free, so this email can be used to let them know that they have canceled their account successfully.